Cyber Connection

Do you play video games? What kind? RPGs? MMOs? FPS? Etc..

I do. I love video games. I’ve been playing them since…gosh, 1997 or so. My very first system? The handheld Nintendo Gameboy. Not the Gameboy Color, not the Gameboy Pocket, just the original classic Nintendo Gameboy. It was great. Standard gray case, digital green screen, and a square game cartridge. I loved the digital 8-bit music chips and the pixel sprite characters. The best part? Playing was a challenge, not just because of the challenges in the games but because of the challenges outside of the games. Did I have enough battery power left to finish the level? If I didn’t, did we have batteries on-hand that I could replace them before the final boss fight? Was there enough light to see the screen (yes, this was before backlit screens existed)?) It was so fun to try to play by holding up my Gameboy and using the headlights of the cars behind us on the road to play my game on trips.

tumblr_o2yhi4OKQM1rh9ffao1_1280.gif

After the Gameboy, my next system was the N64 console which my younger brothers and I got for Christmas. Our first game for it was Donkey Kong 64. I still have both and they still work. Our Dad actually restarted his game the other month to play it again. I still love those graphics. The chunky, blockiness of the characters and world you explore and play in. There’s just classic, retro love all around for the whole thing.

From the Gameboy I upgraded to a Gameboy Color, then a Gameboy Micro, then a Gameboy Advanced. I skipped the square DS generation and went straight for the 3DS and now I have a 3DS XL Legend of Zelda gold case edition.

giphy.gif

Along the way, I picked up a PS2 (for DDR and Kingdom Hearts, what else?), a GameCube, Wii, Wii U, and now a Nintendo Switch, an Xbox 360 and now I have an Xbox One S. (PS – I still have all of these systems, ALL of them except my original Gameboy. Someday, I’d love to get a Gameboy again just because it’s not only a part of my childhood but it was what began my love for video games. It’s where it all started!)

Since I was a kid, video games have really progressed and evolved in the last 20 years alone. I can’t wait to see where they keep going (especially as things like VR start to emerge and become more realistically attainable for the common person). I want to continue to play and be engaged, not only by the games I play but with the people I play them with.

What are my top games right now? I’m so glad you asked! Currently it’s the following:

–  PokemonGo on my phone (I literally play this everyday!)]

Pokemon Core Series games (on my 3DS XL and hopefully soon my Nintendo Switch!)

Overwatch on my Xbox One S. (I literally play this game almost every night. Do you play, too? I’m all about Competitive games. If you have a gamertag, let’s play some time! Shoot me a message or comment below!)

ESO on both my computer (through Steam) and on my Xbox One S. Do you play this, too? Let me know and we can quest together!

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, Splatoon 2, and Skyrim on my Nintendo Switch.

Those are my top games right now!

Game on, my friends!

– Soleil

Leave a comment